Informal Reviews : The Decemberists

The Decemberists-THE KING IS DEAD
I have never listened to The Decemberists.  I got the sense that the Pitchfork/indie scene looked upon them with some disdain for being excessively literate and a little too precious.  Their concept albums sounded silly to me, but this album features John Powers favorites like Gillian Welch and David Rawlings and Peter Buck from R.E.M., so I thought I’d give it a try.  It might be my favorite album of the decade so far.  FABLES OF THE RECONSTRUCTION-era R.E.M. and HARVEST-era Neil Young is channeled effortlessly, and Colin Meloy’s gift for melody is immediately evident.  A really beautiful, unpretentious record for a really shitty month.  “And maybe I should just let it be/And maybe it will all come back to me.  Oh, January…”
Favs : “June Hymn,” “January Hymn,” “Calamity Song.”
GRADE: A
-JPP
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

