JDH SHOW REVIEW: Toro Y Moi(w/Glitter Bones & Save the Clockwork)

Show Review: Toro Y Moi (w/ Glitter Bones & Save the Clocktower)
June 5th, 2010
The Empty Bottle, Chicago

This was my first time visiting the Empty Bottle and I was very pleased with the
venue. Very relaxed scene and crowd while managing to consistently bring in talent
slightly above the radar.
The first band, Glitter Bones, reminded me a lot of Small Black except a bit more
shoegazy (I approve). Very energetic live band that I would recommend. At one point a
friend of the band took the stage to perform a DMX style rap. Interesting novelty.
The second band (Save the Clocktower) reminded me too much of Death Cab. I
won’t say anything else on this matter because for me, that is a terrible thing.
Toro Y Moi’s set was different from what I expected. What I expected was a
mostly electronic performance modeled after the sound of “Causers of This”; instead the
show was closer to a traditional three man rock band style featuring guitar and live
percussion. I suppose I should have been more prepared considering one of his newer
recordings sounds more like late 60’s uptempo r&b than synth pop (“Leave
Everywhere”); I’d also heard that his gear (including laptop) was stolen in March in
Brooklyn which lead to the cancellation of some shows; perhaps he decided to take a new
approach rather than reboot. Unfortunately, if I said I wasn’t disappointed, I’d be lying.
While I am impressed by the freedom and courage Chaz has to re-interpret his own
recordings, I was really stoked for an electronic “chillwave” show and left unfulfilled.
Personal preferences aside, Chaz is an extremely talented young songwriter and one of
the nicest guys you’ll meet (that is also an accomplished musician to boot).
After the show I bought Chaz a pbr much to his delight. I picked up two
unreleased cdr’s he had for sale, one of which (“My Touch,” recorded winter 2007)
turned out to be VERY excellent, featuring a Beach House cover as the last track,
provided here (http://www.msu.edu/~hurleyj4/~tymmon.mp3).

-jdh

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

