early early early 2010 favorite

of the eleven 2010 albums that I have heard so far, my favorite, not best, favorite, is…

Xiu Xiu - Dear God, I Hate Myself

Brief summary:

To me it is what I think a record would sound like if you locked Sufjan Stevens and Aphex Twin in a room with a lot of drugs

Its a real great album. Super great.

-SJK

This entry was posted in I'm just sayin. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to early early early 2010 favorite

  1. John says:

    Okay, I’ve heard one 2010 album so far and have another one waiting on the iPod. How in hell have you heard 11? List, please.

  2. stevekucera says:

    here it is, the list. It has grown since this post.

    here are the 11.
    Beach House – Teen Dream
    Broken Bells – S/T
    Xiu Xiu – Dear God, I Hate Myself
    Hot Chip – One Life Stand
    Los Campensinos! – Romance Is Boring
    Surfer Blood – Astro Coast
    Vampire Weekend – Contra
    These New Puritans – Hidden
    Titus Andronicus – The Monitor
    Lil Wayne – Rebirth
    Spoon – Transference

    By the end of the week I will have also heard:
    Gil Scott-Heron – I’m New Here
    Fucked Up – Couple Tracks(Singles 2002-2009)
    Massive Attack – Heligoland
    Magnetic Fields – Realism

    and I have a lead on the New DBT album.

  3. John says:

    Oh, I see. You’ve gotten your hands on advanced copies. This makes more sense. For some reason, I was thinking that you had listened to 11 albums that had been released in the last 3 weeks, and I was like, “Dude. He is listening to pure CRAP just to inflate these numbers.” I got it now. I better get on it.

Leave a Reply

