Random thoughts on the decade

* The rap mixtape. Out of control right? Blown up this decade. Thanks to the internet.

*The mp3, blown the fuck up. Thanks to the internet.

*Anyone remember what it was like to download a full album on a 56k modem? Yea, took like a week. Crazy.

*Rap from the south. Had you told me in 2000, that by 2009 the south would have taken over radio and underground rap I would have said you are fucking crazy.

*Had you told me in 2000, that underground rap would blow up, and become indie rap. And indie would become the new commercial. I would have said you are fucking crazy.

*Had you told me in 2000 that before the end of the decade Joe Strummer, Ol’ Dirty, James Brown, and Rick James would be dead. I would say, Ol’ Dirty and Rick James maybe, but Joe and James? They are going to live forever.Fuck I miss them.

*Had you told me in 2000 that by the end of the decade you will see the Pixies, Tom Waits, Elvis Costello(w/ Steve Nieve, then again with The Imposters), Daniel Johnston,Bruce Springsteen(solo then again with The E Street Band), and Dizzee Rascal…I would say you are fucking crazy.

*Napster, to Audio Galaxy, to SoulSeek, to Oink…To still in limbo, finding stuff where ever I can. I think that was the progression of my music downloading this decade. Fuck, I can’t believe I used to wait a week to download an album. Snap.

*Hard to believe Kool Keith put out less than 50 albums this decade. His out put at the beginning of this decade and the end of last decade, I was thinking we would have at least 75 Keith albums.

*Another decade without a World Series for the Cubs.

-SJK

This entry was posted in I'm just sayin. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

