New Erykah Badu album

On February 23rd, 2010, Erykah Badu will release New Amerykah, Part II: Return of the Ankh. The follow up to the stunning  New Amerykah, Part I: 4th World War which came out in 2008.

I will be honest, I always dug what Erykah Badu was doing, from Baduizm in 1997 to Worldwide Underground in 2003. But I was never really a fan. I liked her music and appreciated it, but never went out of my way to listen to it. That changed in 2008. New Amerykah, Part I blew me away. It is a challenging album, but that is what makes it so great. Its the kind of album where after the first listen you shake your head and say “Damn, I don’t know what that was, but I know I want more”. She is breaking ground with this series, its amazing. The new album features production from: Madlib, 9th Wonder, and the late J Dilla.

The blog Showing Out was invited to a listening party for the new album, and they broke it down track by track here . Its a great read.

I am very much looking forward to the release of  New Amerykah, Part II: Return of the Ankh.  For those who have forgotten Part I, or missed it all together, here is a taste.

UPDATE: Okayplayer.com has a real nice slide show from the listening party. http://www.flickr.com/photos/okayplayer87/sets/72157622856343741/show/

“The Healer”

“Honey”

-SJK

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

